Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body of HOBY California. The Board supports and oversees the volunteers, activities, and finances of the four Leadership Seminars, the Alumni Association, and the CLeW Programs held each year in California. Board members also work to raise awareness about HOBY’s programs in their local communities, and to build a support base for the longevity of the programs.

The Board consists of a four officers (President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer), four Leadership Seminar Chairpersons, an Alumni Advisor, a Clew Director, and at-large Directors each with a focus on supporting a specific area of our programming.

Support HOBY California
All of our programs our made possible by the generosity of our supports. Consider making a donation today to HOBY California.

Donate Now

Advisory Council
In addition to the governing Board, HOBY California also has an Advisory Council of leaders and allies in the community who provide support and advice to HOBY and its programs. To learn more about the Advisory Council, click here.For more information about the board, or to learn about joining the board, either fill out an interest form here, or email

Members of the Board of Directors

Jimmy Shang '02


Director of Marketing Strategy & Analytics – Avast Software

Grant Willsea '04

Vice President

Associate Director, Creative Development & Production


Christopher Berry '04

Liaison to HOBY International

Business Systems Analyst – NextRoll, Inc.

Amy Martin '07

Leadership Seminar Chair, Northern California

Transportation Planning Consultant – Four Nines Technologies

Megan Byers '09

Leadership Seminar Vice Chair, Northern California

Family Nurse Practitioner Student, UCSF

Deserea Brito '10

Leadership Seminar Chair, Los Angeles

Operations Clerk and Production Specialist – Second Image National

Espi Gonzalez '07

Leadership Seminar Chair, Southern California

Solar Advisor – Gigawatt

Ryan Halvorsen '09

Leadership Seminar Chair, Central California

Vice President, Redondo Van & Storage, Inc.

David Berry


Partner – Berry & Fogarty, LLP

Jane Berry

Fundraising Director

Co-Owner – Integrity Business Partners Consulting

Daisy Sparks

Communications Director

Independent Consultant – New Media Marketing

Jacie Wilcock '98

At-Large Director

Marriage & Family Therapy Intern – South Bay Community Services

Vince Anderson '07

At-Large Director

Fire Safety Specialist – Orange County Fire Department

Olivia Marik-Reis '08

At-Large Director

Health Care Coordinator – Violence Intervention Program

Ken Sherwood

At-Large Director

Dean of Liberal Studies – Oxnard College